One Week Down

One week down – 51 one more to go. I am not in that big of a hurry to move through all 51, I’m enjoying where I am right here, right now.

I am planning on completing at least 4 half marathons this year, as stated in my previous post to participate in the Cal Half Series. My first race is on 2/24 – so 7 Sunday’s left before the big day! I am starting training a little late for this race but I think I will be ok. This will be my 7th half marathon!

This week my workouts didn’t start until Wednesday…the holidays have been making my workouts few and far between. But on Wednesday I started fresh. I went for a nice 4 mile run on my lunch break.

On Thursday I completed a 5K! It was part of the 5 by the 5th Virtual Run Series. Very cool new thing I signed up for. You run a 5K or 5 miles by the 5th of every month January through June. I didn’t have my fastest 5K time ever but used this run as a benchmark of sorts hopefully each month my time will gradually improve. There is a triathlon ran each year that starts and ends at a park right next to my work so I ran the 5K portion of the course.

Such a beautiful run on a bike path

 run 1.2.13

On a little nature trail

run 1.2.13 2Even close to two beautiful mountains!

run 1.3.13 1

I will be sure to include photos on each of my 5K’s throughout the Virtual Run Series.

Friday I took a rest day.

Saturday I did 8 miles in my neighborhood. Here in CA you do not expect cold temps but I started this run with my iphone reading 34* out. That is freezing for me!

run 1.5.12

I bundled up with everything I had, even ear muffs!!

Then to complete my week, I went to my local gym, The Edge. They were having a free open house! All of the instructors took turns, and each gave 20 minute of instruction from the classes they teach – super fun, super tough. After an hour and forty minutes of classes I was worn out!!

I ran a total of 15 miles this week, not a huge number but I am happy with the progress I have made in starting out the new year.

Other fun activities for my Saturday included going to dinner for my girlfriend Brittany’s Birthday!

Here is to a happy and healthy second week of training.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “One Week Down

  1. What a beautiful place to run! I’m so glad you can join us for this series. Best wishes in your half marathon training too, sounds like you’ll be well prepared by race day!

Leave a Reply

